Chakra Overview

Simply stated a chakra is an energy center. There are 7 major chakras and they are constantly moving, working in unison to create life force energy in the human body and help regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions.

The term ‘Chakra’ is also Sanskrit for wheel. This refers to the spinning, spherical energy center that makes up a chakra. That energy is ancestrally known as ‘prana’. You may also recognize this word in other practices, such as yoga and meditation as ‘Pranayama’ means breath control.

The body, mind, and spirit benefit from balanced chakras and each chakra has its own symbol, color, and meaning. Let's take a moment to explore each one:

Chakra Point / Sanskrit Translation

  • 1st - The Root Chakra / Muladhara is located at the bottom of the tailbone–in the perineum for men and in the cervix for women.

  • Color: Red

  • Connects all of your physical, bodily energy with the Earth itself to help ground you.

  • When balanced you feel a deep sense of peace.

  • 2nd – The Sacral Chakra / Svadhisthana is found in your pelvic region, a couple of inches below the belly button.

  • Color: Orange

  • All about your creative identity. The energy that motivates and pleasures you.

  • When balanced you truly enjoy the finer things in life without over-indulging.

  • 3rd – The Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura sits in your stomach, around 2-3 inches above your belly button.

  • Color: Yellow

  • Also known as the 'Warrier Chakra' and is the most powerful supporting bravery and strong willpower.

  • When balanced you experience high self-esteem and self-worth.

  • 4th – The Heart Chakra / Anahata is located in your chest, in and around the heart space.

  • Color: Green

  • Your energy center for feelings of love, compassion and kindness.

  • When valanced you are able to feel love and empathy for yourself and others.

  • 5th – The Throat Chakra / Vishuddha is right in the middle of your throat.

  • Color: Blue

  • Gives you a voice to express your thoughts, beliefs and values.

  • When balanced you openly and lovingly speak the truth.

  • 6th – The Third Eye / Ajna is between your eyebrows and extends to your brain’s pineal gland.

  • Color: Indigo

  • Means 'beyond wisdom' as goes beyond the 5 senses to include extrasensory perception, intuition and pyschic abilities.

  • When balanced you feel equally in tune with the physical and spiritual world.

  • 7th – The Crown Chakra/ Sahasrara you’ll find at the very top of your head, resting on your crown.

  • Color: Violet/White

  • Pure consciousness connecting you to the universe - lifeforce energy. It is your connection to 'God' or 'The Divine'.

  • When balanced you've achieved enlightenment, a spiritual connection to the universe.

Guide To The Chakras For Beginners And Healing Practionners

21 views0 comments